The Stanford Crowdsourced Democracy Team


Ashish Goel  ( website)

Professor of Management Science and Engineering, and by courtesy, Computer Science. Ashish does research in design, analysis, and applications of algorithms. He also designed and prototyped several of Twitter's early algorithmic and monetization products.

Tanja Aitamurto  ( website)

Postdoctoral Fellow at Management Science & Engineering at Stanford University. Tanja examines the impact of civic technologies on behavior and society.

Vijay Kamble  ( website)

Postdoctoral Fellow in the Society and Algorithms Lab at Management Science & Engineering at Stanford University. Conducts research on collaborative mechanisms for collective decision making.

Pranav Dandekar

Postdoctoral Scholar, Stanford University

Larry Diamond  ( website)

Political sociologist and leading contemporary scholar in the field of democracy studies. Larry is an advisor and collaborator of the team.

Nikhil Garg  ( website)

PhD candiate in Electrical Engineering at Stanford University. Nikhil's research focus on the theoretical aspects of social algorithms.

Anilesh K. Krishnaswamy

PhD candidate in Electrical Engineering at Stanford University

David Lee  ( website)

PhD Candidate at Stanford in Electrical Engineering. David's current research focus is on developing algorithms and systems for scaling up collaboration and decision-making. More generally, he is interested in all forms of collective computation in social and biological systems.

Sukolsak Sakshuwong  ( website)

Master student at Stanford in Human-Computer Interaction.

Vivek Srinivasan  ( website)

Academic Research & Program Manager at Stanford University. Vivek is a collaborator of the team.

Zheng Wu

Master student at Stanford in Information Management and Analytics. Zheng drives marketing, business development, product management and development for the Participatory Budgeting project. He is passionate about using data to understand human behavior.

We would also like to thank our past collaborators, including N. Shivakumar (founding member of the Widescope team), Anamitra Banerjee, Debojyoti Dutta, Eli Marschner, Noah Burbank, Eric Mibuari, Scott Cheng, Ningxia Zhang, and Erik Kuefler.